Baby Steps

Well the ball is finally rolling. It’s rolling slowly, and I’m not sure where it’s going yet, but at least it’s finally moving. Last night I sent my CV off to someone at one of the art museums here in town, along with a short email explaining that my department head had suggested I contact her. No reply yet, and I don’t think they have any open positions, but I’m hoping she can at least give me some advice about how to start a career working at a museum.

I also seem to have randomly started a career as a freelance editor, which is another path I had been thinking about investigating. I got to talking to one of my customers at the bar last week. It was dead, as usual, and so we chatted for quite a while. I told him that I had a master’s degree, and was actually a really good writer and editor, but that I was stuck working in this stupid bar, yada yada. Turns out that he writes instruction manuals for an aviation company, but hates proofreading and editing. Would I be interested in editing these for him for $50 a pop? Why yes I would! He sent me one a few days ago, and last night I took my first look at it. It’s going to be a complete pain in the ass, but I have to start somewhere.

Strangely enough, I found out just a few days ago that my therapist used to be a freelance editor. She told me the going rate is around $60/hr, and that she used to make a decent living at it. She thinks I should charge this guy way more, but I look at it like this: he’s my very first client, and I don’t really know what I’m doing – I’m going to have to teach myself how to do this from the ground up. It may turn out that I’m not as good as I think I am. If I am proficient and decide to pursue this path, I’m planning on using this guy as a reference. So he’s doing me a favor, too.

The other thing that seems to be working right now is I’m getting back on track with the whole diet/exercise thing. I’ve been stalled out at 134.2 pounds for about 2 months now, struggling to get my partying under control. I started counting calories again, which I hate, but it works. Had a hard workout yesterday and today. The main thing, though, is I’ve started really planning my meals out and cooking for myself again. I’m still going to eat at work – it’s free and I’m poor – but I’m more committed to eating better when I do. And I’ve decided to go vegetarian when I cook at home. That way I’m automatically limiting how much meat I eat every week (important to me for ethical and health reasons), plus it’s cheaper. It also narrows my options, which is good; one of my main issues is just figuring out which of my gazillion recipes I want to make!

So, I’m feeling pretty good today. Let’s hope this ball keeps rolling!

Leave a Reply

